Mumbai Indians beat CSK by 41 runs in IPL final

Kolkata: Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday to be crowned as Indian Premier League (IPL) Champions.

Chasing a monumental 202/5, the Super Kings could only manage 161/8 from 20 overs.

For Mumbai, it was Rohit Sharma(50) and Lendl Simmons (68) who helped them post such a formidable total, while for Chennai the only notable contribution came from the bat of Dwayne Smith (57).

Mitchell McClenaghan of Mumbai returned with figures of 3/25 from his four overs.