Mayawati presents winning trophy to Vettel

Greater Noida: North Indian state Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati Devi Sunday did the honours to bring down curtains on a successful F1 Indian Grand Prix as she presented the winning trophy to German Sebastian Vettel amid loud cheers at the stands. Mayawati presented the glittering trophy to Red Bull`s Vettel with second-placed Jenson Button of McLaren and Ferrari`s Fernando Alonso, who finished the race at third, looking on.

After he received the trophy from Mayawati, Vettel kissed it and acknowledged the cheers from the huge crowd that turned up to watch the race at the new spanking Buddh International Circuit here. Rakesh Bharti Mittal, vice-chairman of Airtel, the race title sponsors, presented a trophy to a Red Bull official for his team driver winning the race.

Executive chairman of Jaypee Group, the race organisers, Manoj Gaur, presented the trophy to Button for his second place finish, while Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India chief Vicky Chandhok did the honours to Alonso. Later, the three podium finishers opened their champagne bottles and poured on each other in scenes familiar in F1 races.