Cassian Baliarsingh

Without an iota of doubt, the Blue Army is one of the best teams in the ongoing World Cup 2023. Be it the batsmen like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Jadeja or the bowlers like Mohammed Shami, Siraj, Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav, all the players are in terrific red-hot form and giving their best in the tournament.

With India all set to take on Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium, cricket lovers across the globe are confident of India’s win against Australia in the finale. However, there is a question on everyone’s lips as to who will take the ‘Player of the Tournament’ trophy.

While Hitman Rohit Sharma is winning hearts with his captaincy and aggressive batting, Virat has been the star of the tournament with his back-to-back centuries. On the other hand, India pacer Shami seems to be the perfect choice for the ‘Player of the Tournament’, thanks to his terrific wicket-hauls.

The practice of selecting the best player of the tournament started in the 1992 World Cup. From 1992 to 2019, eight players have been awarded the ‘Player of the Tournament’ award for their best performances in the prestigious tournament.

Now, all the eyes are on who will take the trophy home this World Cup. However, it is interesting that all the top contenders for the ‘Player of the Tournament’ are from Team India. Be it Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, or Mohammed Shami, the trophy will come home to India.