Pradeep Pattanayak

Putting all speculations to rest, Mohan Charan Majhi was named the Chief Minister of Odisha by the BJP on Tuesday. His name was announced after the BJP legislature party meeting held in Bhubaneswar on Tuesday. 

In the just-concluded 2024 general elections, 52-year-old Majhi won from Keonjhar Assembly seat, defeating BJD’s candidate Mina Majhi with a margin of 11,577 votes. While Mohan secured 87,815 votes, Mina got 76,238 votes. 

He was elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly from Keonjhar in 2019, by defeating BJD’s Madhaba Sardar. He was also elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly in 2004 and 2000. 

Sarpanch to CM

He started his career as a teacher at Saraswati Sishu Mandir. He entered into politics by becoming a Sarpanch from 1997-2000 and there was no looking back for him since. 

Majhi, who belongs to the tribal community, is known for his public service and organisational skills. 

He has served as the Secretary of the State Tribal Committee of the BJP, the government's Deputy Chief Whip from 2005 to 2009 when there was a BJD-BJP coalition government in the state and was the Chief Whip of the party in the last Assembly.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now