Pradeep Pattanayak

Decision on school reopening to be taken by concerned district collectors keeping in mind weather conditions, informed the School and Mass Education department on Monday. 

As per the department, morning classes will be held from 6:30 AM till 10 AM up to June 20 if weather conditions are favourable and schools are allowed to open.

Also ReadExtend Summer Holidays for Another 3-4 days, Demand Odisha teachers, Parents

Informing about the government’s decision, School and Mass Education Minister Nityananda Gond said, “All district Collectors of the state have been directed that they will declare an extension of holidays for classes Class I to XII of government, government-aided and private schools or change the timings after taking the weather conditions of their districts into consideration.”

“In districts where there will be favourable weather conditions, the collectors will allow the schools to run from 6.30 AM to 10.30 AM.  This direction will be in force till June 20,” he added. 

Notably, the Odisha government had closed the schools for summer vacation from April 25, ahead of the scheduled summer vacation due to the severe heatwave conditions across the State.

District-wise announcements on school reopening so far:

School closure

1. Ganjam (till June 20)
2. Bhadrak (till June 20)
3. Bargarh (till June 20)
4. Nuapada (till June 20)
5. Bolangir (till June 20)
6. Sambalpur (till June 20)
7. Sundargarh (till June 20)
8. Mayurbhanj (till June 20)
9. Gajapati (till June 20)
10. Sonepur (till June 20)
11. Boudh (closed tomorrow)
12. Jharsuguda (closed tomorrow, morning classes thereafter)
13. Balasore (closed tomorrow, morning classes thereafter)
14. Kendrapara (closed tomorrow, morning classes thereafter)
15. Nayagarh (18th, 19th closed, morning classes June 20-22)

Morning classes (6:30-10:30 AM)

1. Deogarh
2. Jagatsinghpur
3. Angul
4. Khordha
5. Puri
6. Dhenkanal
7. Jajpur
8. Rayagada
9. Cuttack
10. Koraput
11. Kandhamal
12. Kalahandi
13. Malkangiri
14. Keonjhar
15. Nabarangpur

(Source: Concerned district administrations)

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now