Congress no-trust motion against MP govt

Bhopal: The Opposition Congress today moved a no-confidence motion against the ruling BJP Government, led by the Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, on the first day of the winter session of the legislative Assembly. The motion was moved by the Leader of Opposition Ajay Singh and was admitted by the Speaker Ishwardas Rohani who scheduled it for discussion on November 28-29.

BJP enjoys strength of 146 members in the House of 231 followed by 66 legislators from the opposition Congress. BSP, Bhartiya Jan Shakti Party (BJS) and SP each have 7, 5 and 3 members respectively, besides 3 independent MLAs, while 1 member is nominated.

This is the first such motion moved against the BJP government which has been ruling the state for the second consecutive term.