8 persons to 10-yr imprisonment in rape case

Nawada: A court in Bihar’s Nawada district today sentenced eight persons to 10 years’ imprisonment after finding them guilty of raping a minor girl and circulating a video of the incident three years ago.

Additional District and Sessions Judge (ADJ)-IV Premchandra Pandey passed the order after convicting Pintu Tiwari, Sandeep Chauhan, Sanjeev Kumar, Bittu Kumar, Bhola Kumar, Mukesh, Pankaj and Anukul Kumar.

Besides 10 years’ imprisonment, the court slapped Rs.

3000 fine on each for raping the then 14 year-old at a house in Akbarpur market on September 1, 2011 and circulating a video subsequently.

The girl’s father Arun Kumar had named the eight persons in an FIR at Akbarpur police station under relevant sections of the law charging them with raping his daughter, circulating video of the heinous act and thus bringing disrepute to his family.