Tag: Odisha Polls 2019

Will take decision on joining party very soon: Dama Rout

Bhubaneswar: Senior leader Damodar Rout said that he will soon take a decision regarding joining either the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) or the Congress. Speaking to OTV today, the senior leader said “I will surely join a party but will take a final call in a day or two on whether it will be BJP […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Kandhamal MP Pratyusha to join Congress: OPCC Chief

Bhubaneswar: Kandhamal MP and former BJD leader Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh will soon join Congress, informed Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) chief Niranjan Patnaik on Thursday. Pratyusha is likely to join the party either on March 23 or 24. However, finalisation on her candidature is yet to be clear, said Patnaik. “Pratyusha has expressed her desire […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
BJP Releases 2nd List: Not PM Modi, Sambit Patra To Contest From Puri

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Putting an end to speculations over Prime Minister Narendra Modi contesting from Puri Lok Sabha constituency in the upcoming general polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Friday night announced party national spokesperson Sambit Patra as its candidate for the Puri parliamentary constituency. Moments after the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting concluded late […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Hathras Impact On Bihar Bypolls: Congress Won't Give Tickets To Those Tainted With Crimes Against Women
Congress announces 35 more candidates for Lok Sabha polls

New Delhi: The Congress on Friday released the seventh list of its 35 candidates for the April-May Lok Sabha election and shifted Uttar Pradesh state unit chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad to Fatehpur Sikri, the party said in a statement. The party has nominated Imran Pratapgarhiya from Moradabad where Babbar’s candidature was announced earlier. The […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Congress announces candidates for 2 Lok Sabha, 54 Assembly seats in Odisha

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) released its second list of candidates for two Lok Sabha and 54 Assembly constituencies of Odisha. The party, through an official notification late on Friday night, released the list. Samarendra Mishra, son of Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly, Narasingha Mishra will contest from Bolangir Lok […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Odisha Polls 2019: BJP pulls ahead of rivals in ticket allotment

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) might have initially delayed its ticket announcement for the upcoming polls, but the candidate selection on a war footing has helped it pull ahead of its rival parties in Odisha. With the announcement of candidates late on Friday night, the saffron party has now finalised the tickets for 15 […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Elections 2019: Fate of chit fund scam-tainted BJD leaders hangs in balance

Bhubaneswar: While discontentment over ticket distribution continues in the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), ‘rehabilitation’ or finding an alternative to the party leaders allegedly involved in the chit fund scam in Odisha is likely to be a herculean task for the regional party ahead of the 2019 polls. Eyes are now on the three BJD leaders- […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
BJP heavyweights mount attack on ruling BJD in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: With an objective to make rapid inroads, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is not leaving any stone unturned to woo the voters ahead of the crucial elections in Odisha. BJP heavyweights including former Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Union Minister of State for Power, Raj Kumar Singh and party’s National Vice-President Baijayant Panda […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Notification issued for 115 LS seats in phase 3

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Thursday issued notification for the third phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections, kicking off the process of filing of nominations for another 115 constituencies across 14 states and Union Territories. Voting in the third phase will take place on April 23, said the notification. According to the EC […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Odisha Polls 2019: BJD changes ticket allotment strategy

Bhubaneswar: Drawing lessons from the bitter experience following discontent among party leaders and workers soon after the announcement of candidates for the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies going to polls in the first and second phases, it seems that the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has been forced to change its ticket allotment strategy. While announcing […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Congress announces candidates for 7 Lok Sabha, 20 Assembly seats in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Congress Central Election Committee (CEC) today finalised the list of candidates for seven parliamentary and 20 Assembly constituencies of Odisha going to the polls in the third and fourth phase respectively. As per the official declaration of the AICC, the party has fielded Odisha Congress Media Cell chief Satya Prakash Nayak from Puri […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Make lotus bloom, build 'majboot' Odisha: Modi at Sundergarh

Sundergarh/Sonepur: Reminiscing the famous quote ‘Andhera chatega, Suraj niklega, Kamal khilega’  made by former PM and BJP patriarch Atal Behari Vajpayee in Mumbai in late 80s, PM Modi during his visit to Odisha on Saturday gave a clarion call to bring BJP to power and build a ‘Majboot’ Odisha. And PM Modi today again reiterated […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
BJD fields Sarojini Hembram as candidate from Baripada Assembly seat

Bhubaneswar: BJD president and chief minister Naveen Patnaik today nominated senior party leader and Rajya Sabha member Sarojini Hembram from the Baripada Assembly constituency in Mayurbhanj district. Soon after the announcement, Hembram said, “I am ready to join the poll battle as a lot of developmental works have been carried out in the constituency and […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Reel Vs Real Hero: Is Babusan’s campaigning in Kendrapara making Anubhav jittery?

Bhubaneswar: Ever since the BJP and BJD declared their candidates for Kendrapara parliamentary constituency, the segment, one of the most sensitive among the coastal belts, undoubtedly has turned out to be the political hotbed of Odisha. On one side is BJP’s heavyweight Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, the former Kendrapara MP who has served two consecutive LS […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021
Bureaucracy doesn’t run Odisha, it’s me & my ministers who do: Naveen

Bhubaneswar: Amid growing perceptions that Odisha is being run by the bureaucrats led by a coterie, Odisha CM and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik today categorically refuted such charges. Terming it as a misconception, Patnaik said that it’s the government, ministers and him who are running the State. In an interview with the managing editor of […]

  • Sunday, 02 May 2021