Tag: Cpi M

CPI(M) not to take part in Odisha RS polls to jeopardise Cong prospects

Bhubaneswar: The CPI(M) on Monday said its lone MLA in the Odisha Assembly will not participate in the ensuing Rajya Sabha elections, jeopardising Congress’s prospects. The party took the decision at its State Council Meeting presided over by its member Jagannath Mishra. Also Read: Odisha Rajya Sabha Polls: EC Sets Ball Rolling, Naveen Going To […]

JNU Violence: Left Parties, Students' Unions In Odisha Take Out Rallies In Protest

Bhubaneswar: Activists of Left parties and members of students’ outfits hit the streets in the state capital on Monday to protest against the violence at Delhi’s Jawaharlal Nehru University, which left at least 34 injured. With placards and banners — which read ‘stop hooliganism in JNU’ and ‘save democracy’ — the demonstrators took out rallies […]

Will visit Kashmir Thursday, report to SC: Yechury

New Delhi: Soon after the Supreme Court gave him the permission, CPI-M General Secretary Sitaram Yechury said on Wednesday that he will visit the Kashmir Valley to meet his party’s ailing leader Mohammad Yusuf Tarigami on Thursday. The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) leader said: “I had filed a petition in Supreme Court to produce […]

Govt passing bills 'hurriedly', 17 parties tell RS Chairman

New Delhi: Raising concern over the government “hurriedly” passing the bills without Parliamentary scrutiny, 17 opposition parties have, in a letter to the Rajya Sabha Chairman, said that it is a departure from the established practice and healthy traditions of enacting legislations. The members have stated that as many as 14 bills have already been […]

PM to form committee on 'one nation, one election'

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi in an all-party meeting on Wednesday said that a committee will be formed to look into the various issues regarding the “one nation, one election” plan. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh told this to the media after the conclusion of the meeting which lasted for over three-and-a-half hours. Singh said […]

21 Opposition parties to meet in Delhi on Tuesday

New Delhi: Two days ahead of the counting of votes for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, 21 Opposition parties will meet on Tuesday here to discuss the possibilities of a non-NDA alliance. The meeting of the 21 opposition parties will be held at the Constitution Club here at 1.30 p.m., Telugu Desam Party (TDP) sources […]

Woman official to verify Kerala nikab wearing voters

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Chief Electoral Officer Teeka Ram Meena on Saturday said a woman poll official would verify women voters, coming to polling booths with faces covered. Seven booths in Kasargode and Kannur Lok Sabha constituencies will undergo re-poll on Sunday. Kerala voted on April 23 for all 20 parliamentary seats. A war of words broke […]

30 crorepatis in fray in last phase Bengal polls

Kolkata: Of 111 candidates across parties contesting from the nine West Bengal seats in the seventh and the last phase of the Lok Sabha elections, 30 have assets worth more than Rs 1 crore, while 23 have declared criminal cases against themselves, said a study on Tuesday. Among candidates who are in the fray for the […]

SC must take steps to come out of crises: CPI-M

New Delhi: The CPI-M on Thursday asked Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and the Supreme Court to “take the court out of the crises in which it is currently mired”. An editorial in the CPI-M organ “People’s Democracy” said the crises in the Supreme Court had been aggravated by the way in which Gogoi and the […]

Ex-Jharkhand CM says he got death threat in letter

Ranchi: Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Babulal Marandi said on Tuesday that he received a death threat in a letter that asked him to stay away from the polls or he would be killed. “I received the letter on Monday evening. It asked me to stay away from Jharkhand from April 23 to May 19. It […]

CPI-M issues second list of candidates for LS polls

New Delhi: The CPI-M on Wednesday named 20 more candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The party has finalized 13 candidates in West Bengal, two each in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana and one each in Jharkhand, Karnataka and Uttarakhand. The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) had on March 16 released its first list of candidates for […]

Janardana Pati to contest from Bhubaneswar for CPI (M)

Bhubaneswar: The Central Committee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) today announced that its senior leader Janardana Pati will contest the polls from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha constituency. In the first phase list of 45 party candidates, Pati’s name has been selected for Bhubaneswar constituency. The CPI (Marxist) also announced names for 16 Lok Sabha […]

CPI (M) says no to alliance with Odisha Congress

Bhubaneswar: Putting days of speculation to end, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) today clarified that it will not enter into a direct alliance with the Congress in Odisha. Briefing mediapersons, CPI (M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury said there would be no alliance with the Odisha Congress for the upcoming general polls. “As per the […]

Odisha Elections 2019
Elections 2019: No headway for Odisha Congress in finalising partners

Bhubaneswar: With the general elections close at hand, Odisha Congress still appears to be in a dilemma over finalising its alliance partners and the seat allocation even after numerous discussions in this regard. While the party will hold a crucial meeting with the left parties on Saturday, the latter have already begun campaigning for the […]

Will oppose both BJP & BJD in Odisha, no alliance with Congress: Yechury

Bhubaneswar: CPI (M) chief Sitaram Yechury on Monday said that the party will not have a formal alliance with the Congress in Odisha and oppose both the BJP and the ruling-BJD even though the latter is not an ally of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Addressing a presser here in Bhubaneswar during his one-day […]