Political leaders congratulate Indian hockey team

New Delhi: Political leaders on Sunday congratulated the Indian hockey team which defeated arch foes Pakistan to lift the Asian Champions Trophy.

Taking to Twitter, political leaders including union ministers hailed the Indian hockey team for their “Diwali gift” to the nation.

“Bumper Diwali gift from our Hockey players, beat Pakistan 3-2 to win the ACT2016 title! Congratulations Team India,” posted Union Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Vijay Goel.

“Congrats to the Indian Hockey team for defeating Pakistan in Asian Champions Trophy Final. The Nation is proud of its Hockey Heroes,” twitted union minister and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah and Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley too congratulated the hockey team.

“Congratulations Team India hockey team for wining Asian Champions Trophy in Malaysia. Great victory. We are all very proud of you,” said West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Among others to congratulate the hockey team are Communist Party of India-Marxist general secretary Sitaram Yechury and Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken.

India lifted their second Asian Champions Trophy hockey tournament defeating Pakistan 3-2 in the final at the Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Kuantan, Malaysia.