New Zealand elect to bat first against Sri Lanka

Colombo: New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in the first semi-final of the cricket World Cup here on Tuesday.

New Zealand have made one change to the side that stunned South Africa in the quarter-final, with seamer Andy McKay coming in for Luke Woodcock, while Sri Lanka have retained the line-up that decimated England in the last-eight stage.

The big news for the hosts is that Muttiah Muralitharan is fit to play the match.


Sri Lanka: WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara*+, DPMD Jayawardene, TT Samaraweera, LPC Silva, AD Mathews, SL Malinga, HMRKB Herath, BAW Mendis, M Muralitharan

New Zealand: BB McCullum+, MJ Guptill, JD Ryder, LRPL Taylor, SB Styris, KS Williamson, NL McCullum, DL Vettori*, JDP Oram, TG Southee, AJ McKay.

Umpires Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and SJ Davis (Australia)

TV umpire M Erasmus (South Africa)

Match referee BC Broad (England)

Reserve umpire BR Doctrove (West Indies).