Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The team of Bureaucrats XI emerged winner by defeating Tata Steel XI  in a friendly football tournament organised by Tata Steel at Kalinga Stadium today.

The tournament was organised under the banner of ‘Friendship Cup Football Tournament’. Other participants were Leaders XI and Media XI.

The Leaders XI led by MLA Arun Sahoo was defeated in first semi final against Bureaucrats XI, led by Suresh Mohapatra.

“Many bureaucrats took part in the event. We are enjoying the tournament and happy to play together as a team,” said Bureaucrats XI Captain, Mohapatra.

In between the encounter between Media XI and Tata Steel XI, the later emerged winner.

“This tournament sends out a message that through sports we can create a friendly environment and strengthen relationship,” said Vice President of Tata Steel, Arun Mishra.

In the final showdown between Bureaucrats XI and Tata Steel XI, the match ended without a goal being scored. Both teams failed to score within the match duration.

However, in the penalty shootout, Bureaucrats XI defeated Tata Steel XI by 4-2 and became the champion of the tournament.