OLA withdraws facilities to Ramesh Rout

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat today formally announced withdrawal of all facilities being provided to Ramesh Rout as the MLA from Athgarh assembly segment in Cuttack district.

"As the Supreme Court has upheld the judgement of the Orissa High Court which had quashed Rout`s election to Athgarh segment, he will not be getting facilities as an MLA from December 9," Amat announced in the assembly. Stating that the OLA had received a communication from the apex court, Amat said that the order will be effective from the date of the judgement. Rout, an independent candidate, was elected to the OLA in 2009 general elections. His election was challenged by Ranendra Pratap Swain, whose nomination paper was rejected by the authority showing some "technical faults".

Swain and his supporter Rabindranath Rout moved the Orissa High Court which on its June 23, 2010 judgement quashed Ramesh Rout`s election. Rout had challenged the HC judgement in the apex Court which upheld the earlier order on December 9.