Odisha Police to extend Student Traffic Volunteer scheme to 5 more cities

Bhubaneswar: Buoyed with the success of Student Traffic Volunteer (STV) scheme in the twin cities of Cuttack and Bhubaneswar, Odisha police is now going to replicate the same model in five more cities across the State.

Confirming the development through a tweet, Odisha Director General (DG) of Police, RP Sharma informed that the Student Traffic Volunteer scheme will be introduced in Balasore, Koraput, Rourkela, Sambalpur and Berhampur.

“STVS, launched last year in Bhubaneswar & Cuttack has yielded great results. After seeing the successful implementation of the scheme in these 2 cities, we’ve decided to extend it to Rourkela, Sambalpur, Berhampur, Balasore & Koraput districts of Odisha,” read a tweet from the official twitter handle of Odisha DGP.

It is pertinent to mention here that the scheme was introduced in Cuttack and Bhubaneswar on an experimental basis last year.

Over 100 students from various educational institutions were roped in to assist existing traffic personnel in various busy junctions in both the cities.

The students are imparted training on basic road signs, the Motor Vehicles Act and violations under the Odisha Urban Police Act, said a senior official of the Cuttack Traffic Wing.