Naveen Patnaik sworn-in as Odisha CM for 5th term

Bhubaneswar: President of Biju Janata Dal, Naveen Patnaik, sworn in as the Odisha Chief Minister after he was re-elected with a decisive majority in the Assembly elections.

Patnaik was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in a grand ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground in Bhubaneswar. The BJD, which won 112 seats in the 147-member Assembly in the recently concluded elections, held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls, has been in power in Odisha since 2000.

It is the first time Patnaik has taken oath in an open public ground. In 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014, he was sworn in at the Raj Bhavan.

Apart from chief minister’s elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta, around 7,000 dignitaries including captains of industries attended the swearing-in ceremony. A large number of BJD supporters and grass root leaders attended the function.


Eleven cabinet ministers–Ranendra Pratap Swain, Bikram Keshari Arukha, Prafulla Mallick, Padmanabh Behera, Pratap Jena, Niranjan Pujari, Arun Sahoo, Sudam Marandi, Sushant Singh, Naba Kishore Das & Tukuni Sahu–took oath.

Similarly, Ashok Chandra Panda, Sameer Ranjan Dash, Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi, Dibya Shankar Mishra, Premananda Nayak, Raghunandan Das, Padmini Dian, Tusharkanti Behera and Jagannath Saraka took oath as ministers of State.

President Ram Nath Kovind spoke to Naveen Patnaik and congratulated him on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha. He conveyed his good wishes to Naveen and his entire team for the development of the state.

Vice President of India, Venkaiah Naidu congratulated Naveen Patnaik on being sworn in as Chief Minister of Odisha for a record fifth time. Naidu tweeted, “I wish all the very best to him & his team for future endeavours. State & Centre should work together as Team India …”

Congratulating CM Naveen, PM Narendra Modi took to Twitter and wrote: “Congratulations to Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji on taking oath as Odisha’s Chief Minister. Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people’s aspirations. I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha’s progress,” tweets PM Narendra Modi.

BJP leader Dharmendra Pradhan also wished the Odisha CM. “Best wishes to Shri Naveen Patnaik on taking oath as the CM of Odisha. I am hopeful that the State Govt. will proactively support the Centre in uplifting the lives of our Odia brothers & sisters to help further the dream of a developed &  new Odisha,” tweeted Pradhan.

“All of us members of BJP are with the Pradhan Sevak PM Modi in letter and spirit, congratulating Naveen Patnaik on beginning his 5th innings, and offering full cooperation for Odisha’s development,” tweeted BJP National Vice President Baijayant Panda.

“Congratulations to Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji for taking oath as Chief Minister of #Odisha for the 5th consecutive term. My best wishes to him,” tweeted Jual Oram.

AICC Chief Rahul Gandhi tweeted, “Congratulations to Naveen Patnaikji on being sworn in as CM of Odisha for a record 5th term. This is indeed an incredible achievement. My best wishes to him and to the people of Odisha.

(With Agency inputs)