We Report, You Decide

Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri appointed Chief Justice Of Orissa HC

Bhubaneswar: Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri has been appointed the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court. The Centre issued a notification in this regard on Friday.

Jhaveri will replace Justice Vineet Saran who has been elevated as a Supreme Court judge along with Justice KM Joseph and Justice Indira Banerjee.

Justice Jhaveri was elevated as a judge of the Gujarat High Court in March 2004, and confirmed as a permanent judge in June 2005. He was then transferred to the Rajasthan High Court in August 2016.

- Advertisement -

The notification regarding appointment of Vineet Saran states…

“In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint Justice Vineet Saran, Chief Justice of Orissa High Court, to be a judge of the Supreme Court of India with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office.”

Justice Saran was appointed as a Judge in the Allahabad High Court in February 2002 and after serving there for 13 years, he was transferred to the Karnataka High Court on February 16, 2015. He was elevated as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court on February 26, 2016.

Justice Saran’s name was recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium for elevation to the Supreme Court on July 16 along with Justice Indira Banerjee.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated both the newly appointed Chief Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri and the outgoing Chief Justice Vineet Saran for being elevated to Supreme Court.

“Congratulate Chief Justice, Orissa High Court Vineet Saran for being elevated to Supreme Court & Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri on appointment as Chief Justice of Orissa High Court; welcome Justice Jhaveri to Odisha, Patnaik tweeted.

You might also like

Comments are closed.