Bhakta Das named AICC spokesperson

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: The name of Kalahandi MP Bhakta Charan Das was added to the list of Congress spokespersons on Sunday among seven other party leaders.

These appointments have been made by the party supremo Sonia Gandhi, AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi said after releasing the announcement. Top leaders like Raj Babbar, an actor turned politician, Shakeel Ahmed, Mohan Prakash, Meem Afzal were also inducted by the party chief.

However, Renuka Chowdhary, P C Chacko and Sandeep Dikshit have retained their post as AICC spokesperson while Rashid Alvi was dropped from the list.

Notably, a tribal region MP, Das who is a member of the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) probing the 2G scam, is also a member of Congress Publicity Committee formed by party vice-president Rahul Gandhi for the ensuing 2014 polls.