Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Following India’s heartbreak loss in the final of the recently-concluded ICC ODI World Cup 2023, the onus will be on the youngsters to lift the mood of the nation as India will lock horns in a five-match T20I series against Australia in Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

In the absence of senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul the onus will be on explosive batter Suryakumar Yadav to lead India against the World Champions.

In the absence of both Shubman Gill and Rohit, Ishan Kishan is likely to fill up the opening slot. Kishan will be seen partnering Ruturaj Gaikwad.  It means talented Yashasvi Jaiswal might have to sit out for the first part of the series.

Suryakumar and Tilak Varma will take charge of the middle order. Rinku Singh along with all-rounder Shivam Dube will hold the key in the same lower middle order.

In the bowling department, all-rounder Axar Patel will make a comeback to the side after missing the World Cup due to a last-minute injury. Ravi Bishnoi might also join Axar in the spin department. The leg-spinner has been preferred over Yuzvendra Chahal.

Arshdeep Singh can be seen leading the pace department along with Prasidh Krishna, who has been part of the team in the World Cup. Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan will fight for a spot in the playing XI as the third seamer.

India’s predicted XI:

Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav (capt), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube/Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Mukesh Kumar.