Vikash Sharma

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced the schedule for the upcoming assembly elections in five states in the country. The states which would go to polls are Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana.

Addressing a presser, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar today announced the dates for elections in these five states.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar informed that over 940 inter-state border check posts will be set up in five states to check any cross-border movement of illicit cash, liquor, freebies and drugs.

 "Anyone can lodge a complaint of inducement through cVIGIL. If any candidate has criminal background, then he will have to announce the same in newspapers thrice," says CEC Rajiv Kumar.

Schedule For Election

Mizoram: Date of poll November 7

Chhattisgarh: Election will be held in 2 phases, first phase on November 7 and 17

Madhya Pradesh: November 17

Rajasthan: November 23

Telangana: November 30

Date of Counting of Votes: December 3

Entire election process to be completed by December 5, 2023

Election In 5 States: Key Highlights

Total 1.77 lakh polling stations to be set up in 679 assembly constituencies

17,734 model polling booths, 621 polling stations to be managed by PwD staff and over 8,000 polling stations will be managed by women.

Around 60 lakh first time voters (1 8-19 years) will exercise their franchise in 5 states.

15.39 lakh young voters are eligible to participate in elections due to amendment on qualifying dates.

2,900 polling booths will be managed by youth to inspire young voters.