• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Amid the ongoing evacuation of Indian nationals from Ukraine, the Odisha government has nominated four special representatives to the neighbouring nations of the war-torn eastern European country for smooth evacuation of students from the State and NRO's.

Informing about the initiative of the Odisha government, State Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra, in a release said, "Owing to the crisis prevailing in Ukraine, a number of people especially students from Odisha are still stranded in the war prone Ukraine and need to be evacuated."

He further informed that the number of students/citizens from Odisha have crossed over to the neighbouring countries like Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia from where they are being evacuated by the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India, by special flights.

"In this backdrop, Government of Odisha has decided to nominate the following special representatives to the countries mentioned alongside to coordinate with the Resident Commissioner and the respective countries and to ensure smooth evacuation of students/ NRO's from Ukraine especially from border location with neighboring countries," he added.

List of the Special Representatives:

1. Vikramaditya, Vice-President, KIIT University and KISS University, (International Relation): Poland and Overall coordination

2. Arushl Ray, Snr TDPS Officer, GLDC, UNHCR: Hungary

3. Baishali Mohanty, UN Policy Officer, WFP, ROME: Romania 

4. Anurag Pattnaik, Based in Hungary, Consultant: Slovakia 

The Resident Commissioner Office, New Delhi will be the nodal office for the purpose. The entire expenses for the purpose will be met out of CMRF, read the official release.

Other Stories