12 candidates in the fray for council elections in J-K

Jammu: Twelve candidates are in the fray for elections to the six seat of Legislative Council in Jammu and Kashmir which is set for polls on April 13, State Legislative Assembly Speaker Mohmmad Ramzan said.

Three candidates Dharam Singh Oberio, Bashir Ahmed Veeri and Noor Hussain are in the fray from NC while Janagir Mir and Yashpal Khajuria of Congress, Ashraf Mir and Bharat Bushan are contesting from PDP, he said.

Others who are contesting council elections include Ranjeet Singh, Satesh Kumar of Bhartiya Janata Party and Fakir Nath, Mohmmad Saleem of JKNPP, Ramzan said.

NC`s Oberio, Veeri and PDP`s Mir are contesting from three seats in Kashmir, while Jahangir (Congress), Satesh of BJP and Saleem of JKNPP are contesting on Poonch seat, Yashpaul (Cong), Fakir Nath (JKNPP),Bharat Bushan (PDP) and Ranjeet Singh of BJP will be contesting on two Jammu seats.