TDP’s defected MLAs seek merger with TRS

Hyderabad: Ten legislators of TDP, who have defected to TRS, on Friday urged Telangana assembly speaker to merge them into the TRS legislature party.

E. Dayakar Rao, who was leader of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the assembly, and nine other legislators signed the letter sent to assembly Speaker Madhusudhana Chary.

They informed the speaker that they held a meeting on Thursday, in which they decided to merge with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) legislature party.

Pointing out that TDP had a total of 15 legislators in the assembly, they said they have the required strength for merger with TRS legislature party, under para 4 of the constitution’s 10th schedule, which deals with defection of lawmakers.

The development came two days after Dayakar Rao along with another legislator Prakash Goud quit TDP to join TRS. Another lawmaker S. Rajender Reddy joined the ruling party on Thursday.

Dealing a severe blow to TDP, as many as four legislators have crossed over during last three days.

The legislators who signed the letter include T. Srinivas Yadav, who is currently a minister in TRS cabinet. Others are G. Sayanna, T. Prakash Goud, T. Krishna Reddy, M. Kishan Reddy, M. Krishna Rao, K.P. Vivekananda, C. Dharma Reddy and S. Rajender Reddy.

Meanwhile, Revanth Reddy of on Friday took over as leader of TDP legislature party. He had been serving as deputy leader of the party.

He held a meeting with four other TDP legislators to discuss the latest developments in the wake of the letter written by 10 legislators to the speaker.

Senior TDP leader R. Chandrasekhar Reddy said the defected lawmakers can’t seek the merger as they did not quit enmasse, and had resigned during last 18 months. He said the anti-defection law was not invoked against them by the speaker despite repeated requests by the TDP.

TDP had bagged 15 seats in 119-member assembly in the 2014 elections.