Arvind Panagariya appointed vice chairman of NITI Aayog

New Delhi: Economist Arvind Panagariya has been appointed vice chairman of the newly-constituted National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.

Economist Bibek Debroy and former DRDO director general V.K. Saraswat will be full-time members of the Aayog, which replaces the Planning Commission, an official release here said Monday.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, and Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh have been named as ex-officio members.

Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot and Human Resource Development Minister Smriti Irani will be part of the Aayog as special invitees, the release added.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be the chairperson of the Aayog.