11 BJP MLAs extend support to Yeddyurappa

New Delhi: Putting speculation to rest, 11 BJP MLAs, whose disqualification by the Karnataka Assembly Speaker was quashed by the Supreme Court, on Sunday extended their support to the Yeddyurappa government and said they would continue to be in the party.

In a letter to Governor H R Bhardwaj, all the 11 BJP MLAs confirmed their "full support" to the state government.

"We wish to put to rest all such speculation and we hereby confirm that we continue to be MLAs of the BJP and extend unqualified support to the government led by B S Yeddyurappa," the letter signed by the MLAs, who are here, said.

Withdrawing their earlier letters, they said, "We also withdraw our earlier letters addressed to you (governor) in October 2010 regarding the question of support to the government led by Yeddyurappa.

"We once again confirm our full support to the present government," the letter said.

The MLAs are planning to meet the Governor and handover individual letters of support to Yeddyurappa government, party sources said.

Ruling out any threat to Karnataka government, senior BJP leader Dhananjay Kumar said the party enjoys clear majority in the 224-member Assembly.

"There is no crisis in BJP. Our strength has now swelled from 109 to 120. Yeddyurappa government enjoys clear majority," he said.

Bharadwaj had yesterday said the verdict was a stricture against the Chief Minister and the Speaker amid a strident demand by opposition Congress and JD(S) for dismissal of the state government on the ground that it had lost majority.

The Supreme Court had on Friday quashed the disqualification of 11 rebel BJP MLAs and five Independents, saying the Speaker had acted in "hot haste" to favour the Chief Minister.