Suzlon, Orb Energy shortlisted for energy award

Dubai: Tulsi Tanti-led Suzlon Energy and Indian SME Orb Energy are among 14 companies shortlisted for this year`s Zayed Future Energy Prize for top sustainable energy innovators. Suzlon has been shortlisted for the award in the large corporations category, while Orb Energy is in contention for the award in the SME and NGO category.

Besides Suzlon, the other companies in contention for the award in the large corporations category include Schneider Electric (France), GE Energy Financial Services (United States) and GE Power & Water (United States).

In the SME and NGO category, Carbon Disclosure Project (United Kingdom), Acumen Fund (United States), Nuru Energy (Rwanda), Environmental Defence Fund (United States), d.light design (United States) and Aga Khan Planning and Building Service (Pakistan) were also shortlisted for the award.

Following a two-day debate, the selection committee for the Zayed Future Energy Prize, comprising 11 of the world`s foremost energy experts, chose the 14 candidates out of a record 425 entries. The shortlisted contenders will now get a chance to compete for the award in January, 2012.

Of the 425 entries received from 71 countries this year, 62 were selected in the first stage by a reputed international research and analysis firm and their number was further reduced to 33 by the Prize`s Review Committee in October.

The shortlisted candidates` activities cover a wide geographic area and represent the potential in addressing the global demand for energy efficiency, sustainable and equal access to energy and novel approach to policymaking, a statement said.

The selection committee closely scrutinised candidates on areas such as their carbon footprint and the impact of their projects on local communities.

The awards are based on three new categories for exceptional candidates in the renewable energy and sustainability field: Large Corporations, Lifetime Achievement, and Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) & Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs).

In the Lifetime Achievement category, Herman Scheer (Germany), Charles O. Holliday Jr. (US) and Ashok Gadgil (United States) have been nominated. The candidates are judged on four parameters: `Innovation`, `Impact`, `Leadership` and `Long-term vision`.

Commenting on the selected candidates, Zayed Future Energy Prize Director General Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber said: "What the Zayed Future Energy Prize is constantly on the lookout for is the strength of commitment to renewable energy and sustainability. After all, any endeavour to improve our world is only as strong as the human spirit that is behind it, this alone is what is worth celebrating and encouraging."