Tag: Karnataka Politics

Basavaraj Bommai Succeeds BS Yediyurappa As Karnataka Chief Minister 
Basavaraj Bommai Succeeds BS Yediyurappa As Karnataka Chief Minister 

Born on January 28, 1960, Bommai held the portfolio of Home, Law, and Parliamentary Affairs in the Yediyurapa government. He has also served as Water Resources and Cooperation Minister. Bommai's decision to stay with the party when Yediyurappa left and launched his KJP and his ability to gain Yediyurappa's confidence after his return to the BJP are said to have worked for him.

  • Tuesday, 27 July 2021
Two rebel Karnataka Congress MLAs meet BJP's Krishna, spark row

Bengaluru: The informal meeting of two ‘rebel’ Karnataka Congress legislators with BJP’s senior leader S.M. Krishna here on Sunday sparked speculation over the continuation of the year-old fledgling JD-S-Congress coalition government in the southern state. “Yes, the two Congress legislators – Ramesh Jarkiholi and K. Sudhakar met Krishna at his residence in the city for […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Political crisis in Karnataka as 11 MLAs of ruling coalition resign

Bengaluru: Karnataka plunged into a major political crisis on Saturday as 11 MLAs from the ruling Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) combine quit, reducing the 13-month-old government to a minority in the 225-member state Assembly. Of the 11 legislators who submitted their resignations in the Assembly Speaker’s office, 8 are from the Congress and 3 from the […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karnataka: Cong Initiates Backchannel Negotiations To Win Back Rebel MLAs

Bengaluru: As the political imbroglio continued in Karnataka, Senior Congress leaders Saturday began backchannel negotiations to persuade the disgruntled MLAs, who have resigned from the Assembly, dealing a blow to the coalition government. A day after Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy made a surprise announcement in the Assembly that he would seek a trust vote, […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karnataka crisis: Congress tries to woo rebel MLAs

Bengaluru: The beleaguered ruling Congress in Karnataka is wooing some of its rebel MLAs to withdraw their resignations and help its tottering coalition government with the JD-S survive the political crisis gripping the state, a party official said on Saturday. “Our senior leaders, including Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara, D.K. Shivakumar and Krishna Byre Gowda […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
No Floor Test In Karnataka Assembly Due To Ruckus

Bengaluru: The much-awaited floor test in the Karnataka Assembly could not be conducted on Thursday due to ruckus between the ruling Congress-JD-S and opposition BJP over the Governor’s ‘interference’ in the House proceedings, an official said. “Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar adjourned the House proceedings at 6:00 p.m. amid ruckus between the ruling and opposition […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karna Governor Asks Kumarswamy To Prove Majority By 1.30 PM

Bengaluru: Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala Thursday asked Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy to prove his majority in the state assembly before 1.30 pm Friday,observing that resingation of 15 ruling combine MLAs and withdrawal of support by two independents “prima facie” indicated he has lost the confidence of the House. He gave the time-line while taking […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karnataka CM Twice Ignores Guv's Deadline To Prove Majority, Trust Vote Delayed To Monday

Bengaluru/New Delhi: Tottering on the brink collapse, the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in Karnataka on Friday ignored the Governor’s deadline twice for proving the majority on the floor of the state Assembly, setting off a constitutional crisis and a fresh legal battle. As the assembly failed to take up the voting on the confidence motion to […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
HD Kumaraswamy Gowda
No Delay In Floor Test On Astrologers' Advice: JD-S

Bengaluru: Believe it or not, beleaguered Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy is reportedly delaying the floor test in Assembly on the advice of astrologers, which the JD-S denied, here on Saturday. “It’s rubbish and a plant by a desperate Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the social media,” Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) spokesman Ramesh Babu told IANS. […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karnataka May Head For Spell Of President's Rule

Bengaluru: Karnataka may have a spell of President’s rule till its Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar decides on the resignations of the 15 rebel legislators of the Congress and JD-S, as the BJP is not in a hurry to stake claim to form a government amid uncertainty, a party official said on Thursday. “If the […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar
2 rebel Congress MLAs, Independent disqualified in Karnataka

Bengaluru: Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar on Thursday disqualified two rebel Congress legislators and an Independent lawmaker with immediate effect. The Congress rebels are Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak) and Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani) constituency in Belagavi district, while the Independent is R. Shankar (Ranebennur). “The 3 legislators have been disqualified under the Anti-Defection Law (10th Schedule […]

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Yeddyurappa To Take Oath As Karnataka CM Today Evening

Bengaluru: BJP leader B.S.Yeddyurappa will take oath as Karnataka chief minister on Friday evening after he staked claim to form the new government with Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru. “As the Governor has given permitted our party (BJP) to form the government, I will be taking oath around 6-6.15 p.m. today (Friday) […]

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Yediyurappa To Prove Majority On July 29

Bengaluru: Karnataka’s new Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa on Friday said he would hold a floor test to prove his majority in the state Assembly on Monday (July 29). “At the cabinet meeting held soon after I took oath as Chief Minister, I decided to go for floor test in the Assembly on Monday at 10 […]

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Yediyurappa Inducts 17 Ministers In First Cabinet Expansion

Bengaluru: More than three weeks after he was sworn in as the Chief Minister, B S Yediyurappa on Tuesday expanded his ministry by inducting 17 ministers into his Cabinet. This is the first Cabinet expansion after he assumed office on July 26 and proved his government’s majority on the floor of the Assembly on July […]

  • Monday, 26 April 2021
SC Upholds Disqualification Of 17 Karnataka MLAs; Paves Way To Contest By-Polls

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the disqualification of 17 Congress-JD(S) MLAs in Karnataka by the then Assembly Speaker but paved the way for them to contest the December 5 by-polls on 15 seats in the state. While upholding their disqualification, the apex court set aside the portion of the orders by the […]

  • Friday, 23 April 2021