Tag: Election Commission

India Mourns Demise Of Pranab-Mukharjee
Pranab Mukherjee expresses concern on EVM tampering reports

New Delhi: Former President Pranab Mukherjee on Tuesday expressed concern over reports of alleged tampering of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and said the onus of ensuring institutional integrity lay with the Election Commission of India (ECI). “They must do so and put all speculations to rest,” he said in a statement. Mukherjee said the safety and […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
2019 LS polls saw dip in number of candidates

New Delhi: The just-held Lok Sabha elections saw a dip in the number of contestants as 8,040 people entered the poll fray, 211 less compared to 2014. The maximum number of people to try their electoral fortunes was in 1996 when 13,952 candidates contested the general elections. According to the Election Commission data, a total of […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Congress flays EC for rejecting VVPAT slip count plea

New Delhi: Hours after the Election Commission on Wednesday rejected demand of 23 opposition parties to count the VVPAT slips, the Congress hit back saying the poll panel had become enfeebled and dubbed the electronic voting machines (EVMs) as “election victory machines”. Addressing the media at the party headquarters here, Congress spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi said, […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Modi wave sweeping Rajasthan

New Delhi: Modi wave seems to be sweeping Rajasthan with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leading in 24 out of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state as counting of votes progressed on Thursday. This is a major debacle for the Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, which had managed to form government in the state a […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Ex-Kolkata top cop Rajeev Kumar dodges CBI, seeks more time

Kolkata: Former Kolkata Police Commissioner Rajeev Kumar on Monday skipped questioning on the Saradha cheat fund scam, and instead sought seven days time from the CBI. Kumar was summoned for questioning at 10.30 a.m., but he sent a letter seeking a week’s time before he could present himself for the questioning, stating “personal reasons”. Two […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
EC says no ghost voters in Lok Sabha poll

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Saturday made it clear that there were no ghost voters during the recently held Lok Sabha polls as the provisional voter turnout data reported on the EC website is only the tentative number of voters. “The provisional voter turnout data reported on EC website is only the tentative number […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Decision on elections in J&K later this year: EC

New Delhi: The decision to hold Assembly polls in Jammu and Kashmir, which is under Presidents Rule, will be taken later this year after conclusion of the annual Amarnath Yatra on August 15, the Election Commission said on Tuesday. The poll panel said, in a statement, that it will monitor the situation in Jammu and […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
'One nation, one election' not feasible now: EC sources

New Delhi: As Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday held a meeting of various parties to discuss ‘one nation, one election’, or simultaneous parliamentary and assembly polls, Election Commission sources claimed that the idea is not feasible as of now. A former Chief Election Commissioner also said the proposal has both “strong merits and serious […]

  • Thursday, 29 April 2021
Made 'new law to shoot tribals' remark in 'free flow of speech': Rahul tells NCST

New Delhi: Responding to a notice over his “new law to shoot tribals” remark, Congress president Rahul Gandhi has told the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST) that he made the comments in “free flow of a political speech”, according to officials. Addressing an election rally in Shahdol in Madhya Pradesh on April 23, Gandhi […]

  • Thursday, 29 April 2021
SC seeks EC response on EVM malfunction complaint

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Tuesday asked the Election Commission to respond on a plea seeking to remove the provision which criminalizes the reporting of malfunctioning of the electronic voting machines, if proven false. A bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gagoi asked the poll panel to file its reply within two weeks. The […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
BJD-Congress-BJP Odisha bypoll
Political parties gear up for Patkura Assembly election

Bhubaneswar: After the announcement of election date for Patkura Assembly seat, three major political parties – BJD, BJP and Congress have chalked out plans and strategies for the upcoming poll. As per reports, State Ministers Arun Sahoo, Ranendra Pratap Swain, Prafulla Mallick, Sanjay Das Burma, Atanu Sabyaschi Nayak, Pratap Deb and Pranab Prakash Das have […]

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Election Commission
Assembly Polls: EC Issues Detailed Guidelines For Counting

Kolkata: Considering the alarming spike in the number of Covid cases in the country, the Election Commission of India has made it mandatory that no candidate/agent will be allowed inside…

  • Wednesday, 28 April 2021
pradeep majhi
'Lives Precious, Not Election': Odisha Congress Urges EC To Put Pipili Bypoll On Hold

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Pradesh Congress on Tuesday demanded postponement of the upcoming Pipili by-election in view of the Covid-19 crisis that has hit the country as well as the State.…

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Assembly Polls: EC Bans Victory Processions On Or After Counting Of Votes Amid COVID Surge

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Tuesday banned all victory processions after counting of votes in states where assembly polls were held to check the spread of coronavirus. The counting…

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Manmohan Singh to file papers for election to RS from Rajasthan tomorrow

Jaipur: Former prime minister Manmohan Singh will file his nomination papers for the bypoll to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan. “The party has decided to nominate former PM Manmohan Singh from the state and he will be filing four sets of nominations here on Tuesday,” Rajasthan Deputy Chief Minister and state Congress president Sachin Pilot […]

  • Tuesday, 27 April 2021