Coin tossed twice in final

Mumbai: Ever heard of the toss happening twice in a cricket match?

Well, that`s exactly what happened before the start of the Cricket World Cup final here at the Wankhede Stadium today between India and Sri Lanka.

When the coin was tossed by Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, there was confusion about what Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara had called ? heads or tails.

After a brief discussion between Sangakkara and Dhoni, match referee Jeff Crowe decided that the toss would be held again.

The Lanka skipper called correctly on this occasion, and opted to bat first in the first-ever All-Asian final in the tournament`s history.

Lanka made four changes in their eleven that won the semifinal against New Zealand in Colombo on March 29 – by including Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv (a last-minute inclusion in the squad in place of injured all-rounder Angelo Mathews), Chamara Kapugedera and Nuwan Kulasekara.

India made one change in the team that defeated Pakistan in the second semifinal at Mohali on March 30 – bringing in S Sreesanth for the injured Ashish Nehra.