Three new Orissa HC judges sworn in

Cuttack: Three new judges were sworn in as the additional judges of the Orissa High Court today. Chief Justice C Nagappan administered oath of office to the newly appointed justice Bidyut Ranjan Sarangi, Biswajit Mohanty and Akshaya Kumar Rath at a function here on the court premises.
With this appointment, the strength of Orissa High Court judges increased to 15 including chief justice against a sanctioned number of 22. Notably, at least 28 high court judges are required for the State as per the suggestion of National law Commission while only 22 posts have been sanctioned by Odisha government.
The new judges were practicing lawyers at the Orissa High Court before their elevation, sources said. According to sources, Orissa High Court has around 2.5 lakh cases pending for disposal.