State observes Platinum Jubilee of Utkal Divas

(image) Bhubaneswar:  Odisha observes Platinum Jubilee of Utkal Divas on Friday to celebrate the formation of the state on 1st April, 1936.

The State was formed after a long struggle. According to history, the last powerful king of Odisha was Mukund Dev. The British later annexed it in 1803 and it became a separate state on April 1, 1936.

The movement was led by Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandit Nilakantha Das, Bhubanananda Das among others. The new state had six districts – Cuttack, Puri, Balasore, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam. Cuttack was the capital.

Sir John Austin Hubbak took oath of office and became the first Governor of Orissa Province.