George Tirkey formally becomes Congress legislator

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker P K Amat Friday announced that lone Samata Kranti Dal MLA George Tirkey would be recognised as Indian National Congress legislator in the House. Amat made the announcement in the House after Tirkey joined the INC.

The leader of Congress Legislature Party, has also informed the Speaker about his acceptance of Tirkey as party MLA, Amat said.

The Speaker said he has accorded status of a Congress member to Tirkey and allotted him a separate seat in the House.

Amat said that the new Congress MLA Tirkey will now be allotted Seat No 11 at Block-H of Odisha Assembly. Earlier, Tirkey had joined the Congress at New Delhi in presence of AICC president Rahul Gandhi.

Amat also informed the Assembly that he has accepted the resignation of Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria who represented the Koraput (SC) assembly constituency.

Sagaria on November 6 had tendered resignation from his assembly membership and submitted a letter in this regard to the Speaker.

“The 144-Koraput (SC) assembly constituency seat stands vacant in accordance with the Constitutional norm and as per the provision laid down in Clause 190 (3) (B), the Speaker declared in the House.