BJD to form ZPs in 28 districts

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidates have emerged victorious in 28 districts while the Congress candidates registered victory in Jharsuguda and Kondhmal zilla parishads(ZPs). All eyes were, however, glued on Koraput which too has gone in favour of the BJD while two BJD candidates were pitted against each other in Khurda. Of the 30 ZPs 18 would be having women presidents.

The picture, of course, had been clear after the announcement of the zilla parishad zone results. The wait was just to observe the victorious candidates for the ZPs. The BJD candidate Umilata Dash was elected uncontested in Balasore while the BJD nominee Jagannath Swain has been elected in Bhadrak. Sridhar Swain and Sushant Mishra have tasted success in Kendrapara and Jajpur respectively. Likewise, Devidutt Mohanty and Prashant Behera of the ruling BJD were elected unopposed respectively in Jagatsinghpur and Cuttack. The BJD candidates Devraj Behera and Minakshi Sahoo grabbed the ZP chiefs posts in Puri and Khurda.

The BJD candidates Pitrush Toppo, Sushama Behera, Gitanjali Putta, Shovangini Nayak, Bijoy Pradhan, Pushpanjali Pandey and Srimati Majhi have won respectively in Sundergarh, Deogarh, Bargarh, Sambalpur, Bolangir, Nuapada and Kalahandi. However, the Jharsuguda seat went in favour of the Congress candidate Renuka Kansrali. Likewise, the Sonepur ZP went to the kitty of BJD candidate Himanshu Sekhar Biswal.

Mamata Nayak, Surath Chandra Pradhan, P Lata, Sujata Madangi, Motiram Nayak, Malati Majhi, Padmini Muduli, Kalicharan Kisku, Srilata Prustry, Girija Nandini Sahu, Binodini Samal and Nalini Prava Sethi, all from BJD, registered victory in Boudh, Ganjam, Gajapati, Rayagada, Nawarangpur, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Angul, Dhenkanal and Nayagarh. But in Kondhmal, the Congress candidate Sanjulata Kahanra emerged victorious.

All eyes were however glued on the Koraput ZP as both the ruling BJD and Congress, each had grabbed 14 zones earlier. Independent member from Narayanpatna zone Jur Mouka who voted for the BJD helped its candidate Malati Majhi win the election. Jur Mouka is a member of the Chasi Mulia Adivasi Sangh.

The Congress has been able to win the Kondhmal ZP. The Congress had won in 9 zones while the BJD and BJP had won in six and three zones. The Congress candidate Sanjukta Kahanra, however, won the fray as the BJD and BJP members abstained from voting. Election had to be conducted in Khurda despite the BJD having majority as there were two aspirants from the BJD.