We Report, You Decide

BJD’s Two New Organizational Posts Trigger Speculations

Bhubaneswar: The creation of two new posts within the party, which saw MLA Pranab Prakash Das being appointed General Secretary- Organization and former minister Sanjay Das Burma General Secretary- Headquarters, has sparked speculations in the political circle.

Talks are doing rounds that BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has carved out the new posts, on the lines similar to the organizational structure of the BJP, to ensure better management of the upcoming election of party office bearers in the 32 organizational districts.

Experts believe that the both Pranab Prakash Das and Sanjay Das Burma will be bestowed the responsibility to resolve intra-party feud and bridge the communication gap between the MLAs, MPs and the party Supremo.

Political expert Prasanna Mohanty said the establishment of new posts indicates towards a change in the organisational framework of the party.

Pranab Prakash, the man behind the curtains, who reportedly worked brilliantly to diffuse the protests of Mutt chiefs during the demolition drive in Puri, ably-organized Patkura and Bijepur bypolls, is being touted as the next crisis manager in the ruling party.

It is believed that Das Burma has been given a new post because of his achievements like spearheading the youth and student wing of the party, maintaining better intra-party coordination and scripting BJD’s success in Nabarangpur and Rayagada.

“In view of the upcoming party organisational elections, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has given maximum emphasis on bringing all party workers and leaders together. So I will work accordingly as per the instructions of the party supremo,” said Das Burma.

On the other hand, Rajya Sabha member Pratap Deb has once again been entrusted with the post of Returning Officer by the ruling party. Sources said the BJD has decided to appoint district returning officers soon which will be followed by elections to all party posts including that of presidents at panchayat, block, municipality and district level. Thereafter, elections to State council, executive body and other offices will be held.

Read Our Next Story