Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

BCCI men’s selection committee on Sunday announced India’s squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, starting in Mohali on January 11.

Veteran batters Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli were included in the team. Moreover, promising wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson made a comeback to the squad. The triple treat has sent waves of joy among cricket enthusiasts.

As the BCCI unveiled the 16-member squad for the three-match T20I series, commencing on January 11, the spotlight was not just on Rohit and Virat but also on the dynamic wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson.

This series marks a significant return for Samson, who is set to add depth to the batting lineup and bring his explosive style to the shortest format.

Fans expressed their excitement over various social media platforms over Samson’s comeback.

“Welcome back Sanju Samson,” wrote a fan on social media platform X (earlier known as Twitter).

“ODI me century and T20I me Entry,” tweeted another fan.

Responding to the development, a third user commented, “Sanju Samson returns in the Indian T20I team as the Wicket-Keeper.”

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.