Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

The third T20 match between India and Afghanistan turned out to be a drama and it was a pack of entertainment as well. The keenly-contested tie ended in a draw. It led to a Super Over, which also resulted in a tie. This led to a second Super Over.

However, the real confusion arose when the visitors complained to the umpires about not allowing Indian skipper Rohit Sharma to bat again.

In the first Super Over, Team India captain Rohit Sharma retired himself out, and in the process allowed Rinku Singh to take his place and run the last two runs. Yashasvi also contributed by scoring a single run, which led to the game going into the second Super Over. As per rules, Super Overs are meant to continue until a winner is determined.

However, high drama unfolded in the second Super Over when Rohit emerged once again to bat. Opposition Afghan team protested by arguing that Rohit had already retired himself out in the previous Super Over. However, as per the laws of the game, Rohit was permitted to bat again since he had not been dismissed.
 

scrollToTop