Four convicted for Kandhamal riots

Phulbani: A fast track court on Friday sentenced four persons to two years rigorous imprisonment and a fine of Rs 2,000 each for involvement in the Kandhamal riots in 2008.

Additional sessions judge (fast track), Court No. 2, Chitta Ranjan Dash, announced the sentence after convicting them.

According to the prosecution, the four along with others had torched the house of a member of the minority Christian community, Ugrasen Digal, of Madinata village under Balliguda police station on August 31, 2008 during the riots.

Digal had lodged an FIR with Balliguda police which arrested the four.