• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced the first list of 54 candidates (out of 60) for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections, to be held on April 11.

According to the list, Chief Minister Pema Khandu will contest from the Mukto constituency in the Tawang district and Finance Minister Chowna Mein from the Chowkham constituency.

Khandu became Chief Minister in 2016 after the resignation of Nabam Tuki of the Congress and imposition of President's rule in the state.

Khandu made it to the Assembly for the first time by winning a byelection on the Congress ticket from the Mukto constituency in 2011. Son of former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, Pema Khandu was re-elected unopposed from the same seat in 2014.

The BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) on Saturday had a marathon meeting to select candidates. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was also present at the meeting.

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.