We Report, You Decide


Foresight is the annual conclave of Odisha Television Limited which has been for many years a much looked after annual event. Foresight has witnessed thought leaders, industry stalwarts, political veterans, experienced journalists and actors, discuss and debate on contemporary topics in great details, leading to many actionable plans. It also features notable performances by Odia artists and performers.

This year Foresight is proud to have national and regional delegates deliberating on issues from Farmers to Celebrities; Elections to Local language. Don’t forget to tune into OTV on 3rd Mar at 11:30AM to witness this thought provoking program.

OTV Foresight 2018 Speakers

Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
Minister of State for Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Govt. of India

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat called Gajju Bana by his followers,
born 3 October 1967) is an Indian Politician who is currently
serving as Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmer’s welfare.
He is a member of Parliament representing Jodhpur and he
represents the Bharatiya Janata Party, having won the Indian
general elections, 2014 with the highest margin of 4,10,051 votes.
Mr. Shekhawat also handles the position of National General
Secretary of the Bharatiya Janta Party (Kisan Morcha). Known for
his simple life style, Shekhawat is the most followed Indian
Politician on Quora. His Quora profile has more than 66,000
followers and his answers on the social media platform has been
viewed a record 6.2 Million times, more than that of
former USA Former President Barack Obama.

Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi
Hon’ble MP, Lok Sabha

She enrolled with the Bar Council of Delhi in 1990, and started practicing at the Supreme Court of India, Delhi High Court, other courts, tribunals and forums in Delhi and other parts of the country. She has argued a wide variety of matters, such as bails, revisions, trials, appeals, criminal writs, murder references, Prevention of Corruption Act/Official Secrets Act/Customs Act/FERA prosecutions, Domestic Violence and Family Law dispute.

Shri. Gaurav Gogoi
Hon’ble MP, Lok Sabha

Shri Gaurav Gogoi represents the Indian National Congress and is the Hon’ble Member of Parliament from  Kaliabor, Assam and is one of the youngest elected Members of Parliament in the country. He is a member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Defence and Joint Parliament Committee on Financial Resolution and Deposit Insurance Bill. Earlier he served as a member on the Standing Committee on Railways. Shri Gogoi heads the East Zone of All India Professionals Congress and is the National Spokesperson for his party Indian National Congress.

Shri Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo
Hon’ble MP, Lok Sabha

Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo is an Indian politician from Odisha and a leader of the Biju Janata Dal political party. His father, Ananga Udaya Singh Deo, and his grandfather, Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo, were both politicians.

Shri Soumya Ranjan Patnaik
Editor, Sambad Daily

A gold medalist from Banaras Hindu University, Sri Soumya Ranjan Patnaik became the
youngest lecturer in Political Science in 1972 in the same university. He is a household name in
Odisha as the Editor of “ Sambad”. An alumnus of some of the most illustrious centres of
learning in India and abroad like Ravenshaw University, Banaras Hindu University, Oxford and
London School of Economics, Sri Patnaik has a brilliant academic track record. Restless and
bubbling with indomitable energy, he threw up a promising teaching career at the BHU to be
the change agent in Odisha.

Shri Haraprasad Das
Eminent writer

Haraprasad Das, is an Odia language poet, essayist and columnist. Das, has twelve works of poetry, four of prose, three translations and one piece of fiction to his credit. Haraprasad, is a retired civil servant.

Shri Devdas chhotray
Former Vice-Chancellor, Ravenshaw University

Devdas Chhotray is an Indian Odia author, administrator and academician. He was the first vice-chancellor of Ravenshaw University, Cuttack, Odisha. His work consists of poetry, short stories, lyrics, musicals and screenplays.

Shri. Damodar Rout
Hon’ble MLA, Paradeep

Shri. Damodar Rout

Shri. Narasingh Mishra
leader of Congress Legislature Party in Odisha Legislative Assembly

Narasingha Mishra is a politician from Odisha, India. Currently he is the Leader of Opposition in the Odisha Legislative Assembly. He was the Deputy Leader of the Congress Legislature Party from 2004-2009.

Shri Suresh Pujari
National Secretary of Bharatiya Janata party, Co-In charge of WB, India.

Shri Suresh Pujari, National Secretary of Bharatiya Janata party, Co-In charge of WB, India.

Mr. Asish Vidyarthi
Bollywood Actor

Ashish Vidyarthi is an Indian film actor who works in multiple language films, predominantly in Bollywood, Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam, Telugu and Bengali cinema. He is noted for his antagonist characters.

Ms. Tisca Chopra
Bollywood Actress

Tisca Chopra is an Indian actress, author and film producer. She has acted in over 45 feature films in different languages with many eminent directors like Aamir Khan, Prakash Jha, Madhur Bhandarkar, Abhinay Deo, Nagesh Kukunoor and Anup Singh.

Event Flow
Foresight 2018
Hotel Mayfair (Convention Hall), Bhubaneswar, 3rd March 2018

Inaugural Session
11:45am : Welcome address by Mrs. Jagi Panda, Director, OTV

11:50am – 12:10pm : Keynote address By the Chief Guest, Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat,  Minister of State for Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Govt. of India.
Topic: Mission 2022: The key implications of MSP, threats & Opportunitiesfollowed by QnA

Session 2: Topic – “Odia language beyond literature” : followed by QnA Moderator : Bijay Malla

12:10pm to 12:25pm :

Panelists :
Shri Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Editor, Sambad Daily
Shri Haraprasad Das, Eminent writer
Shri Devdas Chhotray, Former Vice-Chancellor, Ravenshaw University

Session 3 : Topic – “Making of Young Parliamentarians in Lok Sabha – absence of constructive debates” : Moderator : Sujit Mohapatra

1:00pm – 1:10pm : Address by Shri. Gaurav Gogoi, Hon’ble MP, Lok Sabha
1:10pm – 1:20pm : Shri . Kalikesh Narayan Singhdeo, Hon’ble MP, Lok Sabha
1:20pm -1:30pm – QnA with the panes

1:30pm – 2:15pm – Lunch

Session 4: Topic – “Politics for elections or development & growth” ; Moderator : RadhaMadhab/Bhabani

2:15pm to 3:00pm :


Shri. Damodar Rout, Hon’ble MLA, Paradeep

Shri. Narasingh Mishra, Leader of Congress Legislature Party in Odisha Legislative Assembly

Shri Suresh Pujari, National Secretary of Bharatiya Janata party, Co-In charge of WB, India.

Closing session: Topic – “Do celebrities make for bad role models” ; Moderator : Kuna Tripathy/Diksha Tiwari

3:00pm to 3:45pm


Mr. Asish Vidyarthi, Eminent Bollywood Actor

Ms. Tisca Chopra, Eminent Bollywood Actress

3:45pm: Vote of thanks & event concludes