AIR Cuttack unit sweeps Akashvani annual awards

Mumbai: The Cuttack unit of All India Radio (AIR) on Tuesday bagged the highest number of awards for the radio productions targeting 5 to 10 years age group, at the Akashvani Annual Awards-2010.

The awards were given away by noted sarangi player and Padma Bhushan -recipient Pandit Ram Narayan and music composer Anandji at a function here.

AIR Cuttack received first prize for musical production `Rutu Pare Rutu (Odia), joint second prize in radio documentary for Apoorva Poorvaghal (Odia).

The first prize in radio documentary went to `Rajeev Sir Kee Class in Hindi`, by AIR Gorakhpur. In the radio play category, `Jungali Booti` (Hindi) of Central Drama Unit got the first prize. `Holud Poda`, a Bengali radio play, got the second prize.

The special Lassa Kaul award for national integration also went to AIR Cuttack for `Manachitra Tume Katha Kuha` (Odia).

AIR Thiruvananthapuram received the special award in the category of special topic documentary. S Narayanan Nampoodiri, producer of `Anupama Vaasinte Hurdilukal` received the award.