Centre appoints 3 directors to RBI local boards

Mumbai: The central government has appointed three members on the local boards of the Reserve Bank of India, the apex bank announced on Friday.

“The central government has appointed Prasnna Kumar Mohanty, Vallabh Roopchand Bhansali and Sunil Mitra as members on the Southern, Western and Eastern Local Area Boards of Reserve Bank of India, respectively, for a period of four years with effect from February 9, 2017, or until further orders, whichever is earlier,” an RBI release said.

The government had on Thursday appointed Rajiv Kumar, Ashok Gulati and Manish Sabharwal as three part-time non-official directors on the Central Board of the RBI for a four-year term.

While Kumar is a senior fellow at the Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi, Gulati is the Infosys Chair Professor for Agriculture at the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations, and Sabharwal is currently Chairman of Teamlease, a recruitment consultant and staffing company.