• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Meira Kumar

Congress Names Pranab's Daughter, Meira Kumar's Son National Spokespersons

New Delhi: The Congress on Monday appointed former president Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmistha Mukherjee and ex-Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar’s son Anshul Kumar as national spokespersons. Congress President Sonia Gandhi has approved their appointment, party’s chief spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said in a statement. Sharmishtha, the Delhi Mahila Congress chief, took to Twitter to thank Gandhi […]

Ram Nath Kovind elected India’s new President

New Delhi: NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind has been elected the country’s 14th president after he won the July 17th elections presidential elections by a two-third majority against opposition UPA backed Meira Kumar. In doing so, Kovind will become the only second Dalit leader after KR Narayanan to occupy the highest constitutional office in the […]

Presidential poll: Kovind leads after first round counting

New Delhi: NDAs Ramnath Kovind was leading over opposition-backed Meira Kumar on Thursday after the first round of vote count in the Presidential election. According to Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra, the Returning Officer for the July 20 election, Kovind secured 60,683 value of votes after ballots from four states – Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, […]

Counting of votes for presidential poll underway

New Delhi: The counting of votes for the presidential election was underway here today with the numbers stacked in favour of the ruling NDA’s nominee Ram Nath Kovind over opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar. The name of the next occupant of the Rashtrapati Bhawan would be known by 5.00 pm. The voting took place on Monday. First, […]

Presidential Election: MP Baijayant raises questions over veracity of polls

Bhubaneswar: Sparking a fresh debate over ‘cross-voting’, BJD’s Kendrapara MP Baijayant Panda on Tuesday alleged that few MP’s allegedly voted against party’s decision in the Presidential Election held yesterday. Panda has questioned as to why political parties take stand during President and Vice President Election as there is no provision for party whip. ‘Why do […]

MPs, MLAs vote to elect 14th President of India

New Delhi: Parliamentarians and legislators across India began voting on Monday to elect the country’s 14th President in a direct contest between ruling NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and opposition-backed Meira Kumar. Polling to choose the successor of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee, who demits office on July 25, started simultaneously in the national and state capitals […]

Presidential Election: Odisha CM, MLAs cast votes

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Voting for the 14th President of India began at Odisha Assembly at 10 am today. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and many MLAs reached the Assembly to exercise their power to vote. The contest for the President post is between National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Ram Nath Kovind and candidate of several major opposition […]

Naba Kishore Das
Presidential Elections: Congress holds meeting in support of Meira Kumar

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Congress today held a meeting at the official residence of Leader of Opposition Narsingha Mishra here in connection with the upcoming presidential election. During the meeting, the leaders of the Congress pledged their support for the UPA’s candidate Meira Kumar as the Presidential candidate. Meanwhile, All India Congress Committee (AICC) directed to […]

Opposition picks Meira Kumar in Dalit-vs-Dalit Presidential battle

New Delhi: With 17 opposition parties picking former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar to take on NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind, the stage is set for a Dalit-versus-Dalit contest for the country’s top constitutional post. Congress President Sonia Gandhi announced the name of party leader Meira Kumar at a meeting of the 17 parties including the […]

LS Speaker
Pepper attack: Matter referred to LS Privileges Committee

The issue of the pepper spray incident in the Lok Sabha, which saw widespread outrage and condemnation, was on Sunday referred to the Privileges Committee that has got punitive powers