Tag: Chief Election Commissioner

Rajiv Kumar
Honoured to lead one of the finest institutions gifted by Indian Constitution: CEC Rajiv Kumar

Sushil Chandra relinquished his charge on May 14 after completing his tenure as Chief Election Commissioner of India.

  • Sunday, 15 May 2022
Rajiv Kumar becomes new Chief Election Commissioner, to assume charge from May 15
Rajiv Kumar becomes new Chief Election Commissioner, to assume charge from May 15

As per an announcement made by the Law Ministry, President Ram Nath Kovind has approved Kumar's elevation as the CEC and he is set to take charge of the post upon demitting of the office by Sushil Chandra as the Chief Election Commissioner on May 14.

  • Thursday, 12 May 2022
Chief Election Commissioner of India, Sushil Chandra
Principles, People And Parliament Decide Destiny Of Nation: CEC

Chandra also elaborated on the Parliament and the welfare of people and the importance of good legislature. The classical functions of a good legislature, the CEC said, are being inclusive; to engage and be responsive and raise matters of public importance in Parliament.

  • Saturday, 26 March 2022
Surendra Kumar new Electoral Officer of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Bijepur bypoll, Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat has appointed Surendra Kumar as the new Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha. An official notification was issued in this regard today. Kumar, a 1993 batch IAS officer, replaced DN Gupta as the CEO of Odisha. Currently Kumar is holding the position of […]

  • Saturday, 24 July 2021
Sunil Arora assumes charge as Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Senior IAS official and senior-most Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on Sunday took charge as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), a day after Om Prakash Rawat demitted office. President Ram Nath Kovind on November 27 appointed Arora in the post. He will have a nearly two-and-a-half-year tenure as CEC and he will oversee the […]

  • Friday, 09 July 2021
Election Commission
Elections 2019: Early-poll chatter keeps Odisha political parties on tenterhooks

Bhubaneswar: Will there be early elections in Odisha? While no political party has a clear idea about it, a statement of the Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat is keeping political leaders in Odisha on tenterhooks. On being asked whether the Election Commission (EC) is ready if the Lok Sabha polls are held in December along […]

  • Thursday, 01 July 2021
EC to declare poll date in four states
EC set to announce poll dates for 4 States today

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) is set to announce Saturday the poll schedules for Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. The commission has convened a press conference Saturday afternoon. It will also most likely announce the poll schedule for Telangana. Sources in the commission said that the entire election exercise will be completed by […]

  • Tuesday, 29 June 2021
No chance at all, says CEC on simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls

Aurangabad: Putting to rest all speculation, Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat today emphatically ruled out the possibility of holding simultaneous elections to the state assemblies along with the Lok Sabha polls anytime soon. Rawat also said a legal framework is needed to be in place for holding simultaneous polls. There has been some speculation […]

  • Tuesday, 29 June 2021
Capable of holding LS polls, 4 state assembly elections together in Dec: CEC

New Delhi: The Election Commission was capable of holding the Lok Sabha elections and polls to four state assemblies together in December if the parliamentary elections are advanced, Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat said today. His comments came when asked whether the EC was ready if the LS elections are held in December along […]

  • Tuesday, 29 June 2021
EC Om Prakash Rawat appointed new CEC, Ashok Lawasa made EC

New Delhi: Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was today appointed as the next Chief Election Commissioner succeeding A K Joti who retires tomorrow, the law ministry said today. The government also appointed former finance secretary Ashok Lawasa as an election commissioner. The appointment of the election commissioner was made as a vacancy would have arisen […]

  • Tuesday, 29 June 2021
BJD urges ECI to hold simultaneous polls in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Amid speculations over early Lok Sabha elections, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha today urged the Election Commission of India (ECI) to make adequate preparations to hold elections to Odisha Assembly simultaneously. BJD’s Puri MP, PinakiMisratoday met the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and apprised him about the State’s stand in case the […]

  • Friday, 18 June 2021
Elections 2019 to be held in 7 phases starting April 11; Results on May 23

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 and the votes will be counted on May 23, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced on Sunday. Calling the Indian parliamentary battle the “largest festival of democracy”, he said that 91 constituencies (spread across 20 states) will […]

  • Monday, 03 May 2021
Congress raps government, EC over Lavasa's plaint

New Delhi: The Congress on Saturday attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi over Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa’s letter to Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora regarding his dissent in EC decisions related to the model code of conduct (MCC) going unrecorded and asked whether it was “Election Commission or Election Omission”. Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala said, “Lavasa, […]

  • Saturday, 01 May 2021
CEC meets Kovind, submits names of elected parliamentarians

New Delhi: Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora accompanied by other officials met President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday and submitted a copy of the notification which contains the names of members elected to the 17th Lok Sabha. Kovind congratulated Arora and Election Commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra on the successful completion of the electoral […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021
Odisha Consumers To Pay Higher Electricity Bills From October 1
Poll effect: 15,000 govt schools get electricity connections in rural MP

New Delhi: The just-concluded general elections came as a boon for primary schools in Madhya Pradesh’s rural areas. As per the state Chief Election Commissioner’s (CEO) report, 15,000 government primary schools, which were made polling stations in far-flung areas, got permanent electricity connections during the Lok Sabha polls. Not just electricity, repair works were also […]

  • Friday, 30 April 2021