Ranji tie: Odisha beat Assam by 8 wickets

Cuttack: Odisha finally registered their first win in Ranji Trophy after they trounced Assam by eight wickets at Barabati stadium in Cuttack today.

2015-16, as they scored an emphatic eight-wicket victory over Group leader Assam, which still leads the points table with two wins over top teams.
Resuming their overnight score of 137 for 8, Assam failed to add any run as they were bowled out at the same score. For Assam, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad remained not out at 42 while Odisha quickies Suryakant Pradhan and Basant Mohanty claimed five and three wickets respectively.

Chasing a victory target of 142, Odisha were in trouble after losing Natraj Behera (9) and Rajesh Dhupar (21) with score at 31. However, Anurag Sarangi (29 not out ) and Govind Podder (77 not out) prevented any further damage and powered the team to an eight-wicket win.

Basant Mohanty was declared ‘Man of the Match’ for claiming eight wickets in the match.

Prior to their match against Assam, Odisha had drawn their match against Vidarbha and Maharashtra.

Brief score: Assam (first innings: 92 and second innings 137)
Odisha (first innings: 88 and second innings 142 for 2)