Odisha upset Bengal, Assam crush Tripura

Dhanbad: Odisha and Assam registered easy victories in the East Zone BCCI Under-19 women s Cricket Championship which began here today.

An all-round performance by Odisha captain Sushree Debyadarshini (3 wickets and unbeaten 27 runs) saw Bengal being humbled by six wickets while Assam defeated Tripura by 26 runs.

Bengal won the toss and elected to bat first, but their batsmen fell in a heap against the onslaught of Odisha bowlers.

Odisha captain Debyadarshini deftly utilised the advantage of a cloudy weather to bundle out Bengal for 123 runs in 49.4 overs.

Odisha bowlers bowled so aggressively that only three batsmen of Bengal PP Paul (20), Tanushree Sarkar (33) and Dipu Das could score runs in double digits.

In the Assam versus Tripura match at the Tata Digwadih stadium, Assam scored 143 in 49.5 overs. Ruhina Degu (30) was the highest scorer for Assam. She faced 47 balls and hit five fours in her innings.

In reply, Tripura could score 117 in 50 overs losing nine wickets in the process. Suravi Roy was the highest scorer at 31.