Odisha beat Assam by 5 wickets

Kalyani: Odisha registered a comfortable five-wicket victory over Assam after their bowlers produced a disciplined effort to bundle out the opposition for a paltry 103 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy (East Zone) here on Sunday.

Bowling first after winning the toss, Odisha bowled out Assam in 44.3 overs and then chased down the target in just 23.2 overs.

Basant Mohanty and Deepak Behera were the most successful bowlers for Odisha, returning impressive figures of 3/14 and 3/16 respectively. Paresh Patel picked up two wickets while there was one apiece for Suryakant Pradhan and Arabind Singh at the Bengal Cricket Academy ground.

While chasing, Patel top-scored with 30 off 36 balls with the help of six boundaries, while Bikas Pate made 26 hitting five fours. Anurag Sarangi was unbeaten on 22 when the winning runs were scored.

Pritam Das was the only Assam bowler to put up a fight as he picked up 4/26. Skipper Dheeraj Jadhav was the top-scorer for Assam with 29.

Brief scores:

Assam: 103 all out in 44.3 overs (Dheeraj Jadhav 29; Basant Mohanty 3/14, Deepak Behera 3/16)

Odisha: 105 for five wickets in 23.2 overs (Paresh Patel 30, Bikas Pate 26; Pritam Das 4/26).