Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Under the stewardship of skipper Rohit Sharma, India emerged champions in the T20 World Cup 2024 by beating South Africa in the final in Barbados.

Meanwhile, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah on Sunday confirmed that Rohit will be leading the Men in Blue in the ICC Champions Trophy and the World Test Championship (WTC) final, both slated to take place in 2025.

Shah is confident that India will record a title-winning streak under Rohit with the Champions Trophy and the WTC Final coming up.

“On November 23, after winning 10 matches, we won hearts, but we were not able to win the Cup. I said in Rajkot that on June 29 that we will win hearts, win the Cup and hoist the flag in Barbados. And our captain hoisted it there,” Shah said. 

“After this win, the upcoming ICC events -- WTC final and the Champions Trophy, I am fully confident that our team, under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, will become champions,” he added.

Now, it seems that India will be following split captaincy in international cricket until Rohit retires across formats. While Rohit will continue to lead the Test and the ODI side, star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is likely to be appointed as the T20 captain after Rohit announced his retirement from the format last year.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now