Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) will take on five-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 Eliminator at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Wednesday evenning.

It is a do-or-die match for both the teams as the losing side will  be eliminated from the tournament. The winner will progress to the Qualifier 2 where they will take on Gujarat Titans (GT). Gujarat had lost Qualifier 1 to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Tuesday night.

With regular skipper KL Rahul ruled out due to injury, LSG will be led by all-rounder Krunal Pandya. The team has no other injury issues.

Meanwhile,  Rohit Sharma-led MI is grappling with bowling issues and they leaked runs on many occasions. Though they have overcome the loss of pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, missing the services of Jofra Archer has pegged the team. However, their batting has been on a roll. They have chased down 200-plus totals four times to make up for their weak bowling line-up.

360 degree swashbuckling batter Suryakumar Yadav has been in top form. Explosive all-rounder Cameron Green is coming into this all-imortant game on the back of his maiden ton in IPL.

MA Chidambaram Stadium has helped the spinners a lot. Hence it could be a battle between LSG's bowling versus MI's batting.

Pitch report

The surface at the MA Chidambaram Stadium is getting slower with each passing match. Spinners are expected to get a lot of purchase from the pitch. Batters might face difficulties to clear the ground. Anything around 170 will be a good score on the pich. Team winning the toss will prefer batting first.

Head to head

Matches: 3

Lucknow Super Giants won: 3

Mumbai Indians won: 0

No result: 0

Predicted XI

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock (wk), Karan Sharma, Krunal Pandya (c), Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Prerak Mankad, K Gowtham, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Cameron Green, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen/Kumar Kartikeya/Arjun Tendulkar, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff.