• otv

Tag: Odisha Legislative Assembly

Odisha Speaker Calls All Party Meet On Nov 18 Ahead Of Winter Session

Bhubaneswar: The Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly has called an all-party meet on November 18 ahead of the Winter Session to ensure smooth functioning of the House. Speaker Surya Narayan Patro will discuss subjects regarding Question Hour, Starred Questions and seek opinions of other members on the matter. Notably, starred questions were not taken […]

Winter Session Of Odisha Assembly From Nov 20, Supplementary Budget On First Day

Bhubaneswar: The Winter Session of the Odisha Legislative Assembly will commence from November 20, a notification released by the Assembly secretariat informed on Wednesday. The schedule stated that the Supplementary budget for the State will be tabled on the first day of the session, i.e. on November 20. The sittings will continue till December 31, […]

Monsoon Session Of Odisha Legislative Assembly From Sept 29

Bhubaneswar: The Monsoon Session of Odisha Legislative Assembly will begin from September 29 and conclude on October 7. Since this will be the first Assembly session to be held amid the COVID-19 pandemic, all safety measures will reportedly be taken to conduct the session as per the coronavirus guidelines. The session will provide a total […]

Odisha Assembly voices concern over vacant RI, Amin posts

Bhubaneswar: Members of the Odisha Legislative Assembly today raised concerns over vacant Revenue Inspector (RI) and Amin posts in the State. Seeking a reply from Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Sudam Marndi, ruling party MLA Prafulla Samal stated that while the government is suffering losses of crores due to land encroachment, there are lot of […]

New Speaker, New precedent: Speaker SN Patro calls first-ever all party meet

Bhubaneswar: Setting a new precedent, the newly elected speaker of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly, veteran BJD leader Surjya Narayan Patro, in a first, has convened an all party meeting prior to the commencement of the budget session of the new assembly. The all-party meet is likely to be held on June 24 as the […]

BJD names SN Patro candidate for Odisha Assembly Speaker post

Bhubaneswar: The ruling-BJD today named senior leader and seven-time legislator Surjya Narayan Patro as its candidate for the post of the Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly. Parliamentary Affairs minister, Bikram Keshari Arukha said Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has announced Patro’s name as the party’s candidate for the Speaker’s post. During the election of the […]

Undue service extensions of Odisha Assembly secretary raise eyebrows

Bhubaneswar: Questions are being raised over the State government’s motive after Odisha Legislative Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat recommended the Governor for service extension of the secretary of the Assembly, Amiya Kumar Sarangi for the fifth time. The matter came to fore when the Governor raised an objection to the recommendations of the Speaker asking on […]

24 Odisha MLAs felicitated with Best Legislators Award

Bhubaneswar: As many as 24 Odisha MLAs were felicitated today by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik with the Best Legislators Award here in Bhubaneswar. The MLAs were conferred awards under three categories for their notable performance- eight received Pandit Nilakantha Das Samman, eight received Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das Samman and eight others were conferred with Utkalmani […]

Second phase of Budget Session likely to be stormy

Bhubaneswar: The second phase of Budget Session of the Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) beginning today is all set to be stormy as Opposition BJP and Congress have announced to raise government failures in different sectors to take on the ruling BJD. Deteriorating law and order situation, drinking water scarcity, employment, migrant laborers, shortage of teachers, […]

Security tightened ahead of Budget Session

Bhubaneswar: Senior officials of Commissionerate Police are now busy in making elaborate security arrangements for the Budget Session of the Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) starting tomorrow. A three-tier security cordon has been put in place for the budget session of the Assembly, informed Police Commissioner YB Khurania after reviewing the arrangements on Monday. “An inner […]

odisha assembly
Criminal cases pending against 52 Odisha MLAs

Bhubaneswar: A study done by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and the Odisha Election Watch (OEW) revealed that over 35 per cent members of Odisha Legislative Assembly have criminal cases registered against them. As per the ADR report, out of the 147 MLAs, 52 sitting legislators of the State have declared criminal cases against […]

BJD moves motion of notice for election of Assembly Speaker

Bhubaneswar: Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today moved a motion of notice for the election to the post of Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly. The motion of notice was moved before the Assembly Secretary A K Sarangi. The BJD named former minister Pradip Kumar Amat as its candidate for the Speaker’s post. Chief Minister […]

Formal notification for filing of nominations for RS in Odisha

Election process for the ensuing Rajya Sabha polls began here on Tuesday...