Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Abu Dhabi: In the 42nd match of 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) on Saturday, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) scored 194 runs in the first innings at a loss of 6 wickets against Delhi Capitals (DC). KKR's Varun Chakravarthy smashed DC's hope with his bowling attacks. DC could score only 135 runs at a loss of 9 wickets of which Varun took 5 wickets.

In a big blow to DC, Pat Cummins dismissed Ajinkya Rahane in the first ball of the 2nd innings. it was an LBW.

Cummins continued his rampage by dismissing Shikhar Dhawan in the 3rd over. Dhawan could score only 6 runs off 6 balls.

However, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant ensured to continue a steady partnership. The duo scored a 50 runs partnership taking the team's total score to 64 runs in 10 overs. But, Varun Chakravarthy broke their partnership in the 12th over. Varun dismissed Pant while he could score only 27 runs off 33 balls.

Next it was Shimron Hetmyer who departed scoring only 10 runs. Varun dismissed him in the 14th over. And again in the next ball, Varun gave a big jolt to DC by dismissing Shreyas. Shreyas could score 47 runs off 37 balls.

Varun again struck KKR in the 16th over by dismissing Marcus Stoinis. Stoinis could score only 6 runs off 6 balls. Again in the same over, Varun dismissed Axar Patel. Axar scored 9 runs off 7 balls.

Cummins took his 3rd wicket in the match in the 19th over. He dismissed Kagiso Rabada who scored only 9 runs off 10 balls.

Ravinchandran Ashwin scored runs off balls and remained unbeaten, while Tushar Deshpande scored only 1 run before departing. Lockie Ferguson took the last wicket.

Related Story: IPL 2020: Half-Centuries Of Nitish, Sunil Help KKR Score 194 Runs Against DC

Nitish Rana and Sunil Narine put up 115 runs for the fourth wicket to help Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) get over a poor start to their innings and post 194/6 in 20 overs against Delhi Capitals at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium here on Saturday.

KKR were tottering at 42/3 in the eighth over when Narine, sent in ahead of captain Eoin Morgan, joined Rana in the middle. The West Indies spinner has been having a lean run with the bat but on Saturday, he turned the tide in KKR's favour hitting six fours and four sixes.

Narine fell in the 17th over to Rabada but Rana carried on. He was finally dismissed on the penultimate ball of the innings on 81 by Marcus Stoinis.

Earlier, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje tore into the KKR top order. Both ended the match with two wickets each. Though Marcus Stoinis dismissed the Rana, he got the big wicket in the last over. Stoinis also dismissed Eoin Morgan in the last ball of the innings.

Also Read: IPL 2020: KKR Clinches Victory From SRH In Super Over

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (Capt), Rishabh Pant (WK), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tushar Deshpande, Anrich Nortje.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (Capt), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now