Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the toss and chose to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the 54th match of 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Dubai International Stadium. KKR skipper Morgan remained unbeaten at 68 helping to lead the team's score to 191 runs. However, KKR lost 7 wickets in the match.

Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana were the openers of KKR. In a big blow to KKR, Nitish departed in the 2nd ball of the first over without scoring a single run. Early departure of the batsman was indeed shocking for the team. Jofra Archer took the big wicket.

However, unbeaten 50-run partnership of Shubman and Rahul Tripathi by the end of the powerplay was somewhat relaxing for KKR.

KKR's 2nd wicket was down in the 9th over. Shubman departed scoring 36 runs off 23 balls. Rahul Tewatia took the big wicket. Again in the same over, Tewatia dimissed Sunil Narine.

By the halfway of the match, KKR couldn't cross the hundred-mark.

Shreyas Gopal dismissed Rahul Tripathi in the 12th over. Rahul could score 39 runs off 33 deliveries.

Tewatia again struck back in the 13th over dismissing Dinesh Karthik (0).

KKR skipper Eoin Morgan and Andre Russell had a steady partnership for quite sometime. But, in the 16th over, Russell departed scoring 25 runs. Kartik Tyagi took the big wicket while KKR's score stood at 144 runs.

Skipper Morgan scored his 5th IPL half-century.

Pat Cummins departed in the last over scoring 15 runs off 10 deliveries while the team's total score was at 184.

Morgan scored 68 runs and remained unbeaten leading the team's total score to 191.

RR captain Steve Smith said that the presence of dew in the last few matches in Dubai is the reason why they have chosen to bowl first. KKR have brought back Andre Russell and Shivam Mavi in place of Lockie Ferguson and Rinku Singh respectively.

RR, meanwhile, have gone for the same XI that has won two consecutive matches.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Rahul Tripathi, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Steven Smith (captain), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron, Kartik Tyagi

Related Story:

IPL 2020: CSK Restrict KXIP To 153/6, Deepak Hooda Brings Up 2nd Half-Century

IPL 2020: CSK Won By 9 Wickets Against KXIP

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now